V8 Supercars – Gold Coast 600 SPEED Competition Winners

October 27, 2011

V8 Supercars

Some thrilling racing on the Gold Coast last weekend saw Jamie Whincup & Sebastien Bourdais take home the win on the Saturday, before Mark Winterbottom & Richard Lyons scored a win for the Blue Oval on the Sunday.

But what many of you will find more exciting, is the announcement of the winners of the SPEED competition!

The question asked was, What year was the inaugural Gold Coast 600 held?

And the answer? 2010.

And the lucky winners?

Brendan Kaczmarek, Kyle Stephens & Robert M Grady


SPEED will be in contact with you shortly.

Stay tuned for the next SPEED Giveaway!

Gold Coast 600 History

The Gold Coast 600 is the current name for the annual V8 Supercar
street circuit carnival held each October at the Surfers Paradise Street Circuit
in Surfers Paradise in Queensland, Australia.

Prior to 2009, the most common race format was three races over the weekend,
with one on Saturday and two on Sunday. The driver with the most points
accumulated over the three races was awarded first place for the weekend.

In 2009, the format was changed to
compensate for the absence of the A1 Grand Prix, which had pulled out of the event
in the week beforehand, which had replaced the IZOD IndyCar
. A 300km split into two 150km ‘legs’ was held on each Saturday and
Sunday. The amount of points accumulated over the two legs determined the
individual winner for each day.

In 2010, the track was shortened,
and each team was required to have at least one driver of international
reputation as a co-driver; in 2011,
this rule was adjusted such that every car had a driver of international repute
as a co-driver. Two races of 300 km were held over Saturday and Sunday, with one
race on each day. The co-driver was required to complete at least one-third of
the race distance (34 laps). However, for the 2011 race, the international
reputation rule was slightly relaxed because of the 2011 IZOD IndyCar World
tragedy where Holden Racing Team co-driver Dan Wheldon was killed and Ford
Performance Racing
co-driver Will Power was injured in the 15-car crash. Brad Jones Racing
co-driver Tony Kanaan also
withdrew from the event. The winning co-driver will win the Dan Wheldon
International Driver Trophy.

, , , , , , ,


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: