Formula Ford – Nick Foster Denied Round Win After Two Wins At Sandown

September 12, 2011

Formula Ford

Steeline-backed driver Nick Foster was unlucky to miss overall victory in Round 5 of the Australian Formula Ford Championship at Sandown International Raceway in Melbourne, Victoria today.

Foster took victory in the first two races of the weekend aboard the #2 Steeline Mygale and was in second place in the early stages of Race 3 when hit from behind by another car and sent off the circuit.

Foster was retrieved by officials under Safety Car conditions and completed the race one lap down, classified in 14th place, giving him third overall for the round behind Jack LeBrocq and Sonic team-mate Cam Waters.

With the Australian Formula Ford Championship staging back-to-back rounds in Victoria, Foster now turns his attention to Round 6 at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit this weekend.

NICK FOSTER – #2 Steeline Mygale:

“The weekend was looking pretty good up until the last race,” said Nick Foster.

“The rain came down, which made things pretty interesting, but we were holding our own in second until at Turn 2 I just got punted off.

“It’s really disappointing. It could have been a really good weekend but it wasn’t to be. It’s just another one where we didn’t get there.

“We tested at Phillip Island a couple of weeks ago so we know the car speed is good there.

“Hopefully we don’t get these changeable weather conditions but regardless we should have a fast car there so I’m looking forward to it.

“I’m not really worried about the points. It’s at that point that if Cam makes a mistake or has a bad round, then he has a bad round. I will just be going for race wins from here on in and let the points take care of themselves.”

2011 Australian Formula Ford Championship
Points Standings after Round 5

1. Cameron Waters 221
2. Nick Foster 163
3. Jack LeBrocq 145
4. Garry Jacobson 127
5. Tom Williamson 105
6. Trent Harrison 93
7. Matthew Brabham 89
8. Jesse Fenech 68
9. Liam Sager 64
10. Shae Davies 29

1. Cameron Waters 10 laps
2. Jack LeBrocq
3. Trent Harrison
4. Tom Williamson
5. Jesse Fenech
6. Simon Hodge
7. Liam Sager
8. Garry Jacobson
9. Mathew Hart
10. Elliot Barbour
14. Nick Foster 9 laps

1. Nick Foster 8 laps

2. Jack LeBrocq
3. Garry Jacobson
4. Cameron Waters
5. Tom Williamson
6. Jesse Fenech
7. Trent Harrison
8. Daniel Erickson
9. Liam Sager
10. Caleb Rayner

1. Nick Foster 10 laps

2. Garry Jacobson
3. Jack LeBrocq
4. Cameron Waters
5. Jesse Fenech
6. Daniel Erickson
7. Elliot Barbour
8. Tom Williamson
9. Daniel Ramerman
10. Simon Hodge

, , , , , , ,


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.


  1. Formula Ford – Stars Return To Phillip Island | Beyond The Red Line - September 12, 2011

    […] Formula Ford – Nick Foster Denied Round Win After Two Wins At Sandown ( […]

%d bloggers like this: