FIA GT1 – Makowiecki & Martin’s Mongolian Victory For Ford

September 3, 2011

Uncategorized

Qualifying Race

Fred Makowiecki and Maxime Martin underlined the Ford GT‘s liking for the tight confines of the Ordos International Circuit to record a lights-to-flag victory in the Qualifying Race. Starting from pole, the Marc VDS nr41 driver pair led home the JRM Racing nr22 Nissan GT-R of Peter Dumbreck and Richard Westbrook with the Sumo Power GT No.21 of David Brabham and Jamie Campbell-Walter third.

 

It was the third Qualifying Race win for Makowiecki and Martin after victories in Abu Dhabi and Sachsenring earlier in the season.

 

The Hexis Aston Martin nr3 pairing of Stef Dusseldorp and Clivio Piccione produced one of the drives of the race to take fourth from 10th on the grid.

 

In the battle at the head of the drivers’ championship standings, the All-Inkl.com Münnich Motorsport Lamborghini pair of Marc Basseng and Markus Winkelhock (98) narrowed the gap by a single point to leaders Lucas Luhr and Michael Krumm (111) in the nr23 JRM Racing Nissan GT-R.

 

The Lamborghini duo finished sixth while the Nissan pair, carrying 60kg of success ballast from their double win at Paul Ricard in the previous round, were 12th. They were also hampered by a slow pitstop due to a errant wheel nut.

 

JRM drew level with All-Inkl in the teams’ table on 170 points courtesy of the six points earned by the nr22 car for second place.

 

It was a disappointing day for the Team China Corvettes. Home town hero Ho-Pin Tung did not have a turn at the wheel after the nr11, with co-driver Jeroen Den Boer doing the first stint, retired on the second lap with severe front bodywork damage after a clash with the Belgian Racing Ford GT nr10.

 

The Corvette had started from a lowly 16th position after a disappointing Qualifying session. Tung will get his chance tomorrow when he starts the Championship Race in the nr11 car.

 

The sister Team China Corvette of Michael Rossi and Sergio Jimenez had a stirring start with Rossi making up four places on the first lap from 12th place on the grid. During his stint Jimenez was running strongly in the top 10 but was forced to retire three minutes from the end with a transmission problem.

 

The nr7 Young Driver Aston Martin of Alex Muller and Tomas Enge was forced to start from the pit lane after an engine change. An unscheduled second pit stop to assess a technical issue relegated them to 17th at the flag.

 

The Championship Race will take place at 15:15 (local) / 09:15 (CET) with the nr41 Marc VDS Ford on pole position.

WHAT THE DRIVERS SAY……

 

1st Frederic Makowiecki

nr41 Marc VDS Racing Team Ford GT Matech

“I was in the best position and it was important to exit the first corner in the lead as it is very difficult to overtake here. I was very pleased with my stint, I wanted to give Maxime a good car at the pitstop. I’m very happy to win another Qualifying Race, which is good for the whole team, who did a great job, and be in pole position for tomorrow’s race.”

 

1st Maxime Martin

nr41 Marc VDS Racing Team Ford GT Matech

“The car was very good, Fred did a very good job in the first part of the race. After the pitstop I had a little gap to Richard (Westbrook), who was very quick in the beginning but after a while the gap was pretty constant. He was pushing quite hard and it was difficult sometimes to keep a constant pace but we had a good race and we’re in a good place for tomorrow.”

 

2nd Richard Westbrook

nr22 JR Motorsport Nissan GT-R

Peter handed over a good car, it was running perfectly. At first I thought I could catch the Ford, but he was able to maintain the gap between us. It was a really tough pace and both of us were on the limit, so I was making sure I could stay in contention in case he made a mistake. It’s great to be back on the podium again and to have another front row start tomorrow.”

 

2nd Peter Dumbreck

nr22 JR Motorsport Nissan GT-R

Even starting from P2 it was very important to get through the first corner and round the first lap without a problem, so I was relieved to do that and then get on with the racing. I was able to pull a gap on the rest of the field and then it was a case of trying to stay with the Ford GT ahead of me. Our GT-R was running really well, but I just couldn’t make an impression on the leader.”

 

3rd David Brabham

nr21 Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-R

“I had a good start and ended up with no cars near me through the first few corners – which was quite a surprise – so I was able to stay out of trouble and start pushing from the first lap onwards. I felt I was able to go quicker than the cars ahead of me. First I passed the Lamborghini and then my team mate Enrique, so I was very pleased that the car was so strong and I’m delighted to be back in the top three.”

 

3rd Jamie Campbell-Walter

nr21 Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-R

“We had a great car, a great pit stop and it was a great race. My thanks go to the lads in the team for another quick tyre change. It’s good to score a top three finish again and we are therefore in a great position for tomorrow’s race, when it would be great to be battling for an even higher place. And, if we can find just a little more speed, then I think that’s more than possible.”

 

4th Stef Dusseldorp

nr3 Hexis AMR Aston Martin DB9

“It was an exciting race, Clivio (Piccione) gave me the car in P5. I told him to give me the car in the top five and he delivered! For a long time I was driving on my own. I could see (Nicky) Catsburg in front of me having some trouble and I caught him 10 minutes before the end and I found a gap just before the finish and squeezed through to take fourth position from 12th which was great. We are hoping for a podium tomorrow.”

 

5th Enrique Bernoldi

nr20 Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-R
“The car felt different in the race than it did in qualifying and, after five laps I started to feel some degradation in the tyres. Added to this, the car was locking its front brakes, which obviously didn’t help. As I felt the lap times become inconsistent, I could see David catching me and in the end he got past. I wasn’t able to do be able to do anything about it. We’ll have to see what happens tomorrow.”

5th Nick Catsburg

nr20 Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-R
“The car was excellent, but then I kept locking a wheel as I braked for one of the corners. This was slowing me down of course and in the end I got caught by an Aston Martin. I defended as best I could, but my tyres did not have much grip left. In the end I ran wide and he got past. I was disappointed because this was on the last lap, but I’m very happy that we finished fifth.”

 

7th Dominik Schwäger

nr37 All-Inkl.com Münnich Motorsport Lamborghini Murcielago 670 R-SV

“We didn’t really get it together in Qualifying and we paid for it today in the race. We were behind the No.38 and there was not much we could do. We weren’t so bad on tyres today if I look at the other cars. Anyway, we are looking forward to tomorrow’s race scoring some good points.”

 

10th Christoffer Nygaard

nr9 Belgian Racing Ford GT Matech

“I had some good battles with Marc (Hennerici) but after I got passed the Corvette I was unable to catch the guys in front of me. I was just trying to keep a good pace and run a clean race and find out what we can change on the car for tomorrow. We have seen from Maxime (Martin) and Fred (Makowiecki) that the Ford can be good here. From 10th we have a chance for a good finish.”

 

12th Michael Krumm

nr22 JR Motorsport Nissan GT-R

“It was not the result we were looking for today, but we have to deal with that. We were running well in ninth and then lost about 10 seconds in the pit stop. I think it was a problem with a wheel nut. Without that, I think we could have finished sixth. Starting from P12 is going to make things difficult tomorrow, but we can only do our best and see what happens.”

12th Lucas Luhr

nr22 JR Motorsport Nissan GT-R

“No comment. Well, none I can repeat anyway!”

 

Ho-Pin Tung, (DNF, accident)

nr11 Exim Bank Team China Corvette Z06

“It’s really a pity the race finished like it did for us today when we damaged the front of the car in the accident. We are finding that the tyre management is very important for the Corvette on this circuit. I hope I can do better in the Championship Race tomorrow for the Chinese race fans.”

 

Sergio Jimenez, (DNF, transmission)

nr12 Exim Bank Team China Corvette Z06

“We had a problem with the driveshaft. I was in Turn 6 in second gear and I hit the throttle and nothing happened. We have a problem all weekend in the slow corners. It is very difficult to set up the Corvette here because some of the slow turns are very long and the car rolls a lot. Let’s hope we find something for tomorrow.”

, , , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FIA GT1 – Marc VDS Ford Cleans Up In Ordos | Beyond The Red Line - September 4, 2011

    […] FIA GT1 – Makowiecki & Martin’s Mongolian Victory For Ford (beyondtheredline.org) […]

  2. GT1 – GT1 World to stage spectacular street demonstration race at Beijing Olympic Park‏ | Beyond The Red Line - September 8, 2011

    […] FIA GT1 – Makowiecki & Martin’s Mongolian Victory For Ford (beyondtheredline.org) […]

