Formula Ford – Waters Extends Championship Lead With Victory In Queensland

August 21, 2011

Formula Ford

Cameron Waters has become the first repeat winner in the Australian Formula Ford Championship this season after taking victory in round four at Queensland Raceway today.

The Linde Mygale driver took victory in the final race of the weekend and once again proved that consistency counts as the other round contenders came to blows on the final lap of the weekend.

Matt Brabham emerged from the carnage to take second for the round ahead of Nick Foster, who was forced to fight back from 17th to second in the final race, but it was Waters who stared and extended his championship lead in the process.

“I wasn’t happy finishing third in the first two races of the weekend, but as it’s turned out, those finishes were important and I was able to control the final race. We really improved the car across the day and it was good enough in the final race to build a gap and race calmly to the finish,” Waters said.

“It’s really good for the championship again, especially with Nick [Foster] having a DNF in race two. He was really strong this weekend, so to come out on top at the end ad to gain a few more points in the title race is a good feeling.

“I can’t wait for Sandown in a few weekends time and hopefully I can continue this momentum and clinch another round win and a good amount of points.”

In just his second round this season, Brabham was once again right at the front of the field, but he almost undid all his good work in the final race, making contact with Foster and the unlucky Jack LeBrocq.

“It was a tough weekend, especially with the changing weather conditions, but it was also very exciting from my perspective,” Brabham said.

“I was a little lucky to still come away with second in the round after the final race, but fortunately I did enough in races one and two to secure the result. There was plenty of good racing this weekend between all the drivers, so to come away with a podium and another trophy is a great result.”

Foster was left to wonder what might have been after a small error in the wet race two saw him DNF. The race one winner fought back to second in the final pace, showing incredible speed to salvage third for the round.

“I’m just really disappointed, we had the speed to win this weekend, but I made a mistake in race two and threw it away. The final race was really tough, but enjoyable at the same time. I’m probably a little lucky to finish on the podium, but I’ll take it,” Foster said.

Jack LeBrocq eventually finished fifth for the round after being in contention for victory, ahead of Liam Sager and Garry Jacobson, while Mathew Hart, Shae Davies, Andre Borell and Tom Williamson rounded out the top 10.

The next round of the championship will take place at Sandown International Motor Raceway on September 9-11.

Find the Australian Formula Ford Championship on twitter@ffordaustralia to keep up to date with Australias premier junior development category.

1. Cameron Waters, Mygale SJ011a, 176
2. Nick Foster, Mygale SJ011a, 123
3. Jack LeBrocq, Mygale SJ011a, 99
4. Garry Jacobson, Mygale SJ08a, 93
5. Matthew Brabham, Mygale SJ10a, 89
6. Tom Williamson, Mygale SJ011a, 84
7. Trent Harrison, Mygale SJ011a, 73
8. Liam Sager, Spectrum 012, 56
9. Jesse Fenech, Spectrum 012, 40
10. Nick Cassidy, Mygale SJ011a, 22

1. Cameron Waters, Mygale SJ10a
2. Matthew Brabham, Mygale SJ10a
3. Nick Foster, Mygale SJ10a
4. Jack LeBrocq, Mygale SJ11a
5. Liam Sager, Spectrum 012
6. Garry Jacobson, Mygale SJ08a
7. Mathew Hart, Spectrum 012
8. Shae Davies, Spectrum 012
9. Andre Borell, Mygale SJ10a
10. Tom Williamson, Mygale SJ11a

1. Cameron Waters, Mygale SJ10a
2. Nick Foster, Mygale SJ10a
3. Liam Sager, Spectrum 012
4. Mathew Hart, Spectrum 012
5. Tom Williamson, Mygale SJ11a
6. Garry Jacobson, Mygale SJ08a
7. Matthew Brabham, Mygale SJ10a
8. Jack LeBrocq, Mygale SJ11a
9. Daniel Erickson, Spectrum 012
10. Caleb Rayner, Spectrum 011b

1. Jack LeBrocq, Mygale SJ11a
2. Matthew Brabham, Mygale SJ10a
3. Cameron Waters, Mygale SJ10a
4. Andre Borell, Mygale SJ10a
5. Garry Jacobson, Mygale SJ08a
6. Shae Davies, Spectrum 012
7. Mathew Hart, Spectrum 012
8. Liam Sager, Spectrum 012
9. Caleb Rayner, Spectrum 011b
10. Tom Williamson, Mygale SJ11a

, , , ,


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: