Nascar – Watkins Glen Qualifying Report‏

August 14, 2011

Nascar

Marcos Ambrose will line up from third position for tomorrow’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Helluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen aboard the Stanley Ford Fusion.

Ambrose sat on the provisional pole until late in the session, when he was pipped by Richard Petty Motorsports team mate AJ Allmendinger and pole sitter Kyle Busch.

Earlier in final practice, Ambrose laid down the quickest time, 0.448sec quicker than the field.

The race will be shown live in Australia on ONE HD and SPEED from 2:00am Monday morning.

POST QUALIFYING QUOTES

“It was OK. It was maybe a little bit too conservative. I would have sort of like to have done a nine-something, but I’m really proud of my Stanley team. It’s beena lot of fun this weekend. We’ve got a great chance to win the race and I’m really happy with our race setup. I just hope it goes our way.”

IT WAS JUST OK?

“Yeah, it could have been a little better, but it doesn’t matter. We’ve got the Stanley car up front and I’m just really proud of my opportunity here at Richard Petty Motorsports. I’m looking forward to a really good Sunday. We had a tough Sonoma that didn’t quite go to plan, but this weekend so far has gone great. I’m excited about our chances. I’m just really proud of Stanley for giving me the chance to come here and try to get it done.”

DOES THIS CAR FEEL LIKE PAST YEARS WHEN YOU’VE FINISHED SECOND OR THIRD HERE?

“Yeah, it feels really good. I’m confident for tomorrow, I’ve just got to make sure that we keep the fenders on it, look out for the brakes, and the rest will come to us.”

Helluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen Starting Order

1. Kyle Busch (Toyota)

2. AJ Allmendinger (Ford)

3. Marcos Ambrose (Ford)

4. Jimmie Johnson (Chevrolet)

5. Juan Pablo Montoya (Chevrolet)

6. Ryan Newman (Chevrolet)

7. Tony Stewart (Chevrolet)

8. Carl Edwards (Ford)

9. Martin Truex Jnr (Toyota)

10. Regan Smith (Chevrolet)

, , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

