DTM – Christian Vietoris Fully Focused On His Home Race

August 5, 2011

DTM

His first DTM season also is the first year that offers him the chance of fully focusing on motor racing. Having successfully completed the ‘Realschule’ (the German equivalent to the secondary modern school), he began an apprenticeship as wholesale and foreign trade merchant and completed it while continuing his motor-racing career at the same time. “So, I will have something to hark back to if I things don’t go too well for me in motor racing,” Vietoris explains, “But fortunately, it currently looks as if this won’t be the case.”

Vietoris is a busy man. In addition to the 11 DTM rounds, he also contests the full GP2 season. And when he isn’t racing, he recharges his batteries at home in the 700-citizen village Gönnersdorf, located not far from the Nürburgring. “Gönnersdorf is perfect,” says Vietoris. He isn’t keen on moving to Monaco or the Lake Constance that also is very popular with his driver colleagues. “I’ve been raised here and I feel comfortable here. I live right at the woods and have got loads of opportunities for running, mountain biking or meeting friends. The village is located very central, this allowing you to quickly travel to most of the European racetracks and airports.”

In the meantime, he has accustomed to switching from the DTM car to the GP2 single-seater and vice versa. “It was rather difficult in the beginning but I’ve learned to cope with it and today, it doesn’t represent a problem any more.” He appreciates the amicable togetherness at Mercedes-Benz. “That’s something I’ve experienced in no other team, so far,” he reveals. “It always was about defeating your team-mates. At Mercedes-Benz, however, we cooperate for the success of the team and should I ask – for instance – Bruno for advice, he is ready to help me at any time.”

This weekend, Vietoris is going to contest his sixth DTM race – and his first at the Nürburgring. It comes as no surprise that he regards the tradition-rich circuit in the Eifel as one of his favourite racetracks. “I’ve got only fond memories of ‘The Ring’. After all, I have won races at the Nürburgring in every single series I have competed in.”

, , , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DTM – Mattias Ekstrom Claims Pole At Nurburgring | Beyond The Red Line - August 7, 2011

    […] DTM – Christian Vietoris Fully Focused On His Home Race (beyondtheredline.org) […]

