Formula 1 – Pole, Podium & Points For Red Bull Racing

August 1, 2011

Formula 1

(c) jxpphotography.com

Car 1 SEBASTIAN VETTEL, Finish Position: 2nd, Start Position: POLE POSITION

 

“I was struggling a little in the first stint on the intermediate tyres. Lewis was a bit faster and then I went into Turn 2 too deep, it was quite tricky – he was pushing quite hard and I tried to be on the edge. At some stage I realised it would be too late, so I opened the car because I know the white lines and the green paint afterwards is very slippery, so it’s easy to have a spin, and I lost the lead. After that the track surface was drying. I think we could have maybe come in a lap earlier and then I was on the super-softs – I was feeling quite good initially, but there was quite a lot of drop off, I think it was the same for all of us. In the last stint, I did feel I had more speed in the car, but with 20 laps to go it was difficult to know how hard it was going to be at the end, so I couldn’t push as hard as I would have liked, but still, second today is an important step. The McLarens are strong in all sorts of conditions and it’s clear that for two races now they have made a step forward; we need to make sure we come back strong for the next race.”

Car 2 MARK WEBBER, Finish Position: 5th, Start Position: 6th

“It was a good race – quite enjoyable; I made the right call to go for the slicks at the right time, but when the rain came I thought it was going to be heavier – so I went for the intermediate tyres, but it didn’t come. The team didn’t say too much about the rain, so I thought it was a bit of a surprise shower, but I made the decision to go for the intermediates. It didn’t work out for Lewis and I with this gamble – and it looks stupid in hindsight when the track dries out, but if it had rained strong enough for another few minutes, then it would have been the right tyre. So, it’s a fine line and to get yourself back in the game sometimes you have to role a dice. I’m fine with the decision I made, it’s on my head and the team did a good job this weekend.”

 

, , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

