V8 Supercars – Sebastien Bourdais To Join TeamVodafone For Gold Coast 600

July 29, 2011

V8 Supercars

Four-time Champ Car World Series Champion Sebastien Bourdais will join TeamVodafone for their on-track assault at this year’s Armor All Gold Coast 600.

The former F1 pilot is one of the most accomplished Champ Car drivers globally, having won four successive titles from 2004-2007. Bourdais also holds the record for the most wins in a season with 8 in 2007.

While TeamVodafone is yet to announce if Bourdais will pair with Craig Lowndes or Jamie Whincup, the French pilot is eager to be a part of the championship winning team and said is looking forward to reuniting with Team Principal Adrian Burgess.

“I met Adrian last year and we quickly understood each other,” Bourdais explained.

“He is a great person to be around and when he told me he was going to join TeamVodafone, he asked me to wait for him to get back to me before committing to anything for Surfers. I did that and here I am.

“It obviously is a privilege to drive for the best team in V8 Supercars, and I am very honoured they picked me amongst all the great drivers who will enter this year’s Gold Coast 600,” Bourdais continued.

In the 21year history of the Surfers Paradise street race, Bourdais is the only driver to win the event on more than one occasion.

“The pace at which the corners come at you on the Gold Coast street circuit are very high, and it is super challenging. It requires a lot of engagement.

“Being with such a successful team like TeamVodafone means that you have live up to their expectations so I will do my very best to deliver what they expect from me,” Bourdais said.

With his impressive resume and results on the Surfers Paradise street circuit it is little wonder that Team Principal Adrian Burgess sought his services for 2011.

“He did everything that was asked of him last year and was a good guy to get along with,” said Burgess.
 
“He is solid in the car and gets on with the business.
 
“I think we have a reasonably clear idea of who we will be pairing with who, but things can change and we won’t be making our final decision until we have to.

“I think he would have no problem working with either Craig or Jamie.” Burgess added.

The Armor All Gold Coast 600 races onto the streets of Surfers Paradise from October 21st – 23rd.

For regular news and updates, head to www.teamvodafone.com.au

, , , , , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

