V8 Supercars – Bright: Penalties Lack Consistency

July 10, 2011

V8 Supercars

Pace was not the problem for Team BOC at Townsville today, with Jason Bright qualifying sixth and running with the leaders until the closing stages.

An incident with Will Davison, however, brought the crew unstuck after the officials judged it to be unlawful and gave Brighty a drive through penalty whilst running in sixth place.

Rejoining 24th with 20 laps to go, Brighty drove his wheels off to finish 22nd but says the officials’ decision gave him a disproportionate penalty compared to the usual 30-point deduction following a race.

The next race is at Ipswich Motor Raceway from 19-21 August.

Jason Bright
Team BOC
“Holdsworth made a lunge at the last corner and when I gave him room I gave Will Davison a tap. I should have just let Holdsworth come through because if I hadn’t hit Davo myself he would have for sure. I was just trying to get out of his way so he wouldn’t hit me.

“The officials look at so many incidents after the race and give them a 30-point penalty and we just got a 100-point penalty. Either stop giving out drive throughs in the race or increase the penalty after the race. 30 points is a token compared to a drive through just after a safety car.

“I wouldn’t mind having another crack at this weekend. In the end the car was bloody good considering the changes we made coming into the race.”

Sucrogen Townsville 400-V8 Supercars Championship Races 14&15
Qualifying Race 15

01 Craig Lowndes, 888, 1:12.8533
02 Mark Winterbottom, FPR, +0.3198
03 David Reynolds, Kelly Racing, +0.3532
04 Garth Tander, HRT, +0.3659
05 Will Davison, FPR, +0.4048
06 Jason Bright, Team BOC, +0.4445
07 Lee Holdsworth, GRM, +0.4582
08 Jamie Whincup, 888, +0.4997
09 Rick Kelly, Kelly Racing, +0.5591
10 James Moffat, DJR, +0.6352

Sucrogen Townsville 400-V8 Supercars Championship Races 14&15
Race 1
01 Jamie Whincup, 888
02 Craig Lowndes, 888
03 Mark Winterbottom, FPR
04 Alex Davison, SBR
05 Shane Van Gisbergen, SBR
06 Lee Holdsworth, GRM
07 Tim Slade, JRR
08 Fabian Coulthard, WPR
09 Russell Ingall, PMM
10 Paul Dumbrell, RNR
22 Jason Bright, Team BOC

, , , , , , ,


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: