V8 Supercars – Lowndes Takes Solid Points Haul In Darwin Finale

June 19, 2011

V8 Supercars

Craig Lowndes consolidated his second place in the Championship with a solid second place in today’s final race at Hidden Valley Raceway.
Starting third on the grid and recording a strong start, Lowndes lost time queuing behind teammate Whincup during the first pitstop but benefitted from his tyre strategy, opting to run the soft set for his final stint. While Lowndes took the race lead following the final safety car period he was passed by Shane Van Gisbergen on lap 66.
Jamie Whincup endured a front row race start he would like to forget,  the TeamVodafone driver bogged down back to seventh as the field got off the line. Opting to start the 200km race on his soft set of tyres, Whincup quickly regained second position but lamented the unnecessary load he put on them at the start.
Whincup led for most of the race but was overhauled at the end by the soft tyre finishers, the second safety car bunching the field back up, pushing the #88 pilot to sixth place by race end.
The TeamVodafone duo leave Darwin with 156 points separating them in the championship standings, Whincup with 1395 points ahead of Lowndes on 1239.
While TeamVodafone will begin preparing for Event 7 of the V8 Supercar Championship Series in Townsville on the 8-10 July, they will take time out on June 26 to take part in the Brissie to the Bay 100km bike ride to raise money for Queenslanders suffering from Multiple Sclerosis.
For regular news and updates, head to www.teamvodafone.com.au.

Top Ten V8 Supercar Championship Series Race 13 Results – Hidden Valley Raceway

1: Shane Van Gisbergen     
2: Craig Lowndes
3: Mark Winterbottom      
4: Tim Slade    
5: Russell Ingall          
6: Jamie Whincup           
7: Will Davison            
8: Alex Davison            
9: Steven Johnson          
10:Jason Bargwanna 

Top Ten V8 Supercar Championship Series Standings

1: Jamie Whincup, 1395pts
2: Craig Lowndes, 1239pts
3: Shane Van Gisbergen, 1134pts
4: Rick Kelly, 1082pts
5: Steven Johnson, 1030pts
6: Will Davison, 1020pts
7: Garth Tander, 1013pts
8: Alex Davison, 963pts
9: Mark Winterbottom, 961pts
10: Jason Bright, 920pts



Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: