V8 Supercars – 270kph Drama For Team BOC

June 19, 2011

V8 Supercars

Following Team BOC‘s recent winning streak at Perth and then Winton last month, this weekend’s double DNF at Darwin’s Hidden Valley was all the more disappointing. 

In today’s race Jason Bright got to lap 11 before the engine blew as he reached 270kph along the main straight. Brighty did an exceptional job of managing the car, which had both rear tyres locked and covered in oil.

The next V8 Supercar round is in Townsville from 8-10 July. 

Jason Bright
Team BOC
“The engine let go in a pretty big way. I was doing about 270kph or something and I actually thought I was on the limiter early and then I saw smoke coming out. It was a big one. 

“When I got past the control tower, probably 100m before the braking area, it just started making a noise. That was the only warning. 

“As soon as it went I came off the power but couldn’t pull it up because of the oil all over the rear tyres. I had a big rear lock up all the way in there. 

“It’s incredibly disappointing coming off our recent success. We were just starting to come on in the race. I didn’t feel as though we had the pace for the first couple of laps but we were starting to put some pressure on in the last few laps and we probably had better pace than it looked like in qualifying but we didn’t nail it.”

, ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

