Global RallyCross – Ford Fiesta Sweeps Podium At Pikes Peak SuperRally

June 18, 2011

Uncategorized

Tanner Foust has consistently said not many people have beaten Marcus Gronholm in a rally car. Foust can now add his name to that short list. The Colorado native led a Ford Fiesta sweep of the Global RallyCross Championship SuperRally competition in the United States by beating Gronholm, the two-time WRC champion, in the SuperRally finale.

“It seemed like it was coming down to like Irwindale where the Fords had blasted through the pack and three of the top four would be Fiestas,” said Foust. “Deegan got third, but once again it was Marcus and I in the final, but this time I got him. It came down to the first turn on the first lap. He beat me off the line so I went really wide so I could get a good line into the corner and I just squeezed him into the second corner.  

“That was the difference. It just happened to work and I think that he had a little understeer coming through there and he left the inside lane open and it’s great. All in all it was a successful day. It was a challenge. We are at a high altitude and it was hot 90 to 95 degrees yet the Fords had the most reliability, were the quickest and had the most power and that is why we are all on the podium,” he added. 

Gronholm hadn’t lost a heat in a GRC event until Foust edged him in the first turn of the first finals heat taking a lead he wouldn’t surrender.

“Tanner passed me in the first turn when I was down on the revs and once you get behind it is hard to see,” said Gronholm. “I clipped the front of the Best Buy Fiesta on a barrier and it felt strange so I didn’t attempt the jump in the second heat. Tomorrow [RallyCross] will be competitive and I need to focus on my starts. ”

Brian Deegan made his Global RallyCross debut and took third edging David Higgins of Subaru. Deegan a double silver medalist at X Games in 2010, qualified fifth but eliminated two higher seeds en route to the podium result.

“It was a good day,” said Deegan. “The last time I was in a rally car was almost a year ago at X Games and this morning was a little frustrating as I forgot all the buttons and all the gauges and I had to get back into the swing of things. I said to myself you have to realise you are racing the best guys and once I got more comfortable I started picking them apart and studying the track. I actually ran head-to-head with Marcus [Gronholm] who is one of the best guys in a rally car there is, and I gave him a run for his money. First day back in the car and there are a lot of fast guys here this year and it is only getting harder. Fiesta 1-2-3, that is how it has got to be from here on out.”

The Global RallyCross Championship will return to the Pike Peak International Raceway for the RallyCross main event on Saturday.

, , , ,

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

