Uhrahane on the pace in tough Snetterton outing‏

May 17, 2011

Formula Ford

Australian Geoff Uhrhane has continued to show good pace in the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain, outpacing his seasoned opponents by taking pole position for all three races at Snetterton over the weekend.

The Gold Coaster is in his debut year in the cutthroat series that is widely regarded as a stepping-stone to Formula One. 

Uhrhane made a positive start to the first race but an electrical failure rendered the JTR Mygale driver to the sidelines to lament what would have been a certain podium finish.

Despite being under constant attack from his rival’s teammates in the second race, Uhrhane drove with measured aggression to an impressive second place.  
In the final race of the weekend Uhrhane was shunted from behind as he attempted to avoid contact with a competitor who had moved across on him.

“Performance wise we made some great gains with the car coming into this round but I have to admit I am starting to get frustrated with the DNF’s,” Uhrhane explained.

“We know we have the pace to win, we have won before. It is not good to be left sitting on the side of the track when I should be fighting for the win.

“I kind of blame myself for my result in the third race. If I hadn’t made a mess of the race re-start I wouldn’t have been back in the pack, so I put myself in that position.

“I know I am a bit of a wanted man out there at the moment as I seem to be the only one that can split the Jamun’s and give Scott (Malvern) a run for his money.  I understand that they are racing as a team and I need to be aware and ready for it,” he concluded.

Uhrhane sits sixth in the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain standings. 

Rounds 10, 11 and 12 of the series will be held at Brands Hatch, Kent, on June 18 and 19 in support of the British F3 and GT Championships.

Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain Standings

1. Jeroen SLAGHEKKE, NED Jamun Racing Mygale, 220pts
2. Scott MALVERN, GBR, Jamun Racing Mygale, 216pts
3. Nick McBRIDE, AUS, Jamun Racing Mygale, 186pts
4. Antti BURI, FIN LMS Racing Mygale, 175pts
5. Dan DE ZILLE, JEY, JTR Mygale, 152pts
6. Geoff UHRHANE, AUS, JTR Mygale, 145pts
7. Spike GODDARD, AUS, Jamun Racing Mygale, 102pts
8. Philippe LAYAC, FRA, Enigma/RV Mygale, 92pts
9. Neil ALBERICO, USA, Cliff Dempsey Ray, 90pts
10.Matt PARRY, GBR, Fluid Van Diemen, 86pts


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: